Sourced data

Destination document requirements

Last verified .

Compare each receiving consulate or program with its own criminal-record wording. Some official sources omit recency or its anchor. EPIK measures six months against the contract start.

Which criminal-record rule does the destination publish?

Spain

Consulate or program Los Angeles non-lucrative visa

Issuer Federal FBI

Apostille Federal Hague apostille from the US Department of State; local apostille rejected

Format Original and copy; digital acceptance not stated

Recency in months 6

Translation Certified Spanish translation

Other-country records Countries of residence during the past five years

Boundary and intake notes Certificate age cannot exceed six months from issue. The source does not explicitly name the comparison event.

Not published Measured against.

Official source Sources checked .

Spain

Consulate or program Washington non-lucrative visa

Issuer Federal FBI; state and local police checks rejected

Apostille Hague apostille on the FBI signature; not an apostille certifying a local notary. EU-issued criminal records are exempt from apostille under this source.

Format Original and photocopy, not notarized; submit original and copy of the record, apostille, and translation

Recency in months 6

Measured against Visa application submission

Translation Official or sworn Spanish translation. The translation needs no apostille, and the apostille needs no translation.

Other-country records Additional records for more than 180 days in another country outside the US or Spain during the past five years

Boundary and intake notes Issued within the six months preceding visa submission. Source applies to applicants age 18 or older. Preserve the more-than-180-days boundary.

Official source Sources checked .

South Korea

Consulate or program EPIK teaching contract

Issuer National police authority of primary citizenship; US applicants use the FBI

Apostille Physical national-level apostille affixed to the original CRC. US applicants use the State Department Office of Authentications; state-level apostilles on notarized copies are rejected.

Format Original physical CRC with physical apostille; digital apostilles not accepted

Recency in months 6

Measured against Contract start date

Other-country records An apostilled CRC may be requested after two consecutive years currently living in another country. An apostilled CRC is also required from the country where a bachelor's degree was completed outside the home country.

Boundary and intake notes Main February intake starts August 1; late March starts September 1; late April starts October 1. Main August intake starts February 1; late September starts March 1; late October starts April 1. Use these published intake cutoffs.

Not published Translation.

Official source Sources checked .

Spain

Consulate or program Los Angeles digital nomad visa

Issuer Country or countries of residence; US issuing authority not specified

Format Original and copy

Other-country records Countries of residence during the past two years, plus a responsible declaration of no criminal records during the past five years

Boundary and intake notes The source applies this document paragraph to adults. It does not publish a criminal-record recency window. Confirm the US issuer and authentication with the consulate.

Not published Apostille, Recency in months, Measured against, Translation.

Official source Sources checked .

Spain

Consulate or program Los Angeles student visa

Issuer Federal FBI

Apostille Federal Hague apostille from the US Department of State; local apostille rejected

Format Original and copy; altered or damaged records, including damage from removing staples, are rejected

Recency in months 6

Translation Certified Spanish translation

Other-country records Countries of residence during the past five years

Boundary and intake notes Source says applicants over 18 and stays exceeding 180 days. Certificate cannot be older than six months from issue. It does not explicitly name the comparison event.

Not published Measured against.

Official source Sources checked .

Spain

Consulate or program New York non-lucrative visa

Issuer Federal FBI only; local and state police certificates rejected

Apostille Foreign criminal-record documents must be legalized or apostilled. The US apostille link points to State Department instructions.

Format Original and copy

Recency in months 6

Translation Official Spanish translation where applicable

Other-country records Countries of residence during the past five years

Boundary and intake notes Applies to adults. Certificate cannot be older than six months. The source does not explicitly name the comparison event.

Not published Measured against.

Official source Sources checked .

Spain

Consulate or program New York digital nomad visa

Issuer Federal FBI background check verified by fingerprint comparison; local police criminal certificates rejected

Apostille Apostille certification required. The translation needs no apostille, and the apostille needs no translation.

Recency in months 6

Measured against Visa application submission

Translation Sworn or certified Spanish translation

Other-country records Additional police records after six months or more in another country or state during the past five years, plus a responsible declaration for the past five years

Boundary and intake notes Issued within six months before visa submission. The source says not applicable to students under 18; confirm that copied age wording with the consulate.

Not published Format.

Official source Sources checked .

Spain

Consulate or program New York student visa

Issuer Federal FBI only; local and state police background checks rejected

Apostille Legalized or apostilled

Format Original and copy

Translation Spanish translation; certification type not specified in the criminal-record paragraph

Other-country records Countries of residence during the past five years

Boundary and intake notes Required for applicants age 18 or older and stays exceeding 180 days. The source does not publish a criminal-record recency window.

Not published Recency in months, Measured against.

Official source Sources checked .

Spain

Consulate or program Chicago non-lucrative visa

Issuer Federal FBI; local and state background checks rejected

Apostille Federal Hague apostille from the US Department of State; local and state apostilles rejected

Format Original and copy

Recency in months 6

Measured against Visa application date

Translation Certified Spanish translation

Other-country records Countries of residence during the past five years

Boundary and intake notes Certificate cannot be older than six months from the application date. The source says applicants over 18.

Official source Sources checked .

Spain

Consulate or program Chicago digital nomad visa

Issuer Federal FBI

Apostille Federal Hague apostille from the US Department of State; local and state apostilles rejected

Format Original and photocopy

Recency in months 6

Translation Certified Spanish translation

Other-country records Countries of residence during the past five years; source specifically requests records after six months or more elsewhere, plus a five-year responsible declaration

Boundary and intake notes Source says applicants over 18. Certificate cannot be older than six months from issue. It does not explicitly name the comparison event.

Not published Measured against.

Official source Sources checked .

Spain

Consulate or program Chicago student visa

Issuer Federal FBI

Apostille Federal Hague apostille from the US Department of State; local and state apostilles rejected

Format Original and copy

Recency in months 6

Translation Certified Spanish translation

Other-country records Countries of residence during the past five years

Boundary and intake notes Source says students over 18. Stays exceeding 180 days include at least 30 days before studies and 15 days after studies. No recency comparison event is named.

Not published Measured against.

Official source Sources checked .

Portugal

Consulate or program Retirement or passive-income residence visa

Issuer Competent authority of the nationality country or the country where the applicant has resided for over one year. The central source does not specify the FBI.

Apostille Hague apostille if applicable, or legalization

Other-country records Nationality country or country of residence for over one year, as stated with an or condition; applicants under 16 are exempt

Boundary and intake notes The reviewed central page does not state criminal-record recency. The consular post may request additional documents. Confirm the relevant consulate before ordering.

Not published Format, Recency in months, Measured against, Translation.

Official source Sources checked .

Portugal

Consulate or program Remote-work residence visa

Issuer Competent authority of the nationality country or the country where the applicant has resided for over one year. The central source does not specify the FBI.

Apostille Hague apostille if applicable, or legalization

Other-country records Nationality country or country of residence for over one year, as stated with an or condition; applicants under 16 are exempt

Boundary and intake notes The reviewed central page does not state criminal-record recency. The consular post may request additional documents. Confirm the relevant consulate before ordering.

Not published Format, Recency in months, Measured against, Translation.

Official source Sources checked .

Destination document requirements
DestinationConsulate or programIssuerApostilleFormatRecency in monthsMeasured againstTranslationOther-country recordsBoundary and intake notesSource
SpainLos Angeles non-lucrative visaFederal FBIFederal Hague apostille from the US Department of State; local apostille rejectedOriginal and copy; digital acceptance not stated6Not publishedCertified Spanish translationCountries of residence during the past five yearsCertificate age cannot exceed six months from issue. The source does not explicitly name the comparison event.Official source
Sources checked .
SpainWashington non-lucrative visaFederal FBI; state and local police checks rejectedHague apostille on the FBI signature; not an apostille certifying a local notary. EU-issued criminal records are exempt from apostille under this source.Original and photocopy, not notarized; submit original and copy of the record, apostille, and translation6Visa application submissionOfficial or sworn Spanish translation. The translation needs no apostille, and the apostille needs no translation.Additional records for more than 180 days in another country outside the US or Spain during the past five yearsIssued within the six months preceding visa submission. Source applies to applicants age 18 or older. Preserve the more-than-180-days boundary.Official source
Sources checked .
South KoreaEPIK teaching contractNational police authority of primary citizenship; US applicants use the FBIPhysical national-level apostille affixed to the original CRC. US applicants use the State Department Office of Authentications; state-level apostilles on notarized copies are rejected.Original physical CRC with physical apostille; digital apostilles not accepted6Contract start dateNot publishedAn apostilled CRC may be requested after two consecutive years currently living in another country. An apostilled CRC is also required from the country where a bachelor's degree was completed outside the home country.Main February intake starts August 1; late March starts September 1; late April starts October 1. Main August intake starts February 1; late September starts March 1; late October starts April 1. Use these published intake cutoffs.Official source
Sources checked .
SpainLos Angeles digital nomad visaCountry or countries of residence; US issuing authority not specifiedNot publishedOriginal and copyNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedCountries of residence during the past two years, plus a responsible declaration of no criminal records during the past five yearsThe source applies this document paragraph to adults. It does not publish a criminal-record recency window. Confirm the US issuer and authentication with the consulate.Official source
Sources checked .
SpainLos Angeles student visaFederal FBIFederal Hague apostille from the US Department of State; local apostille rejectedOriginal and copy; altered or damaged records, including damage from removing staples, are rejected6Not publishedCertified Spanish translationCountries of residence during the past five yearsSource says applicants over 18 and stays exceeding 180 days. Certificate cannot be older than six months from issue. It does not explicitly name the comparison event.Official source
Sources checked .
SpainNew York non-lucrative visaFederal FBI only; local and state police certificates rejectedForeign criminal-record documents must be legalized or apostilled. The US apostille link points to State Department instructions.Original and copy6Not publishedOfficial Spanish translation where applicableCountries of residence during the past five yearsApplies to adults. Certificate cannot be older than six months. The source does not explicitly name the comparison event.Official source
Sources checked .
SpainNew York digital nomad visaFederal FBI background check verified by fingerprint comparison; local police criminal certificates rejectedApostille certification required. The translation needs no apostille, and the apostille needs no translation.Not published6Visa application submissionSworn or certified Spanish translationAdditional police records after six months or more in another country or state during the past five years, plus a responsible declaration for the past five yearsIssued within six months before visa submission. The source says not applicable to students under 18; confirm that copied age wording with the consulate.Official source
Sources checked .
SpainNew York student visaFederal FBI only; local and state police background checks rejectedLegalized or apostilledOriginal and copyNot publishedNot publishedSpanish translation; certification type not specified in the criminal-record paragraphCountries of residence during the past five yearsRequired for applicants age 18 or older and stays exceeding 180 days. The source does not publish a criminal-record recency window.Official source
Sources checked .
SpainChicago non-lucrative visaFederal FBI; local and state background checks rejectedFederal Hague apostille from the US Department of State; local and state apostilles rejectedOriginal and copy6Visa application dateCertified Spanish translationCountries of residence during the past five yearsCertificate cannot be older than six months from the application date. The source says applicants over 18.Official source
Sources checked .
SpainChicago digital nomad visaFederal FBIFederal Hague apostille from the US Department of State; local and state apostilles rejectedOriginal and photocopy6Not publishedCertified Spanish translationCountries of residence during the past five years; source specifically requests records after six months or more elsewhere, plus a five-year responsible declarationSource says applicants over 18. Certificate cannot be older than six months from issue. It does not explicitly name the comparison event.Official source
Sources checked .
SpainChicago student visaFederal FBIFederal Hague apostille from the US Department of State; local and state apostilles rejectedOriginal and copy6Not publishedCertified Spanish translationCountries of residence during the past five yearsSource says students over 18. Stays exceeding 180 days include at least 30 days before studies and 15 days after studies. No recency comparison event is named.Official source
Sources checked .
PortugalRetirement or passive-income residence visaCompetent authority of the nationality country or the country where the applicant has resided for over one year. The central source does not specify the FBI.Hague apostille if applicable, or legalizationNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNationality country or country of residence for over one year, as stated with an or condition; applicants under 16 are exemptThe reviewed central page does not state criminal-record recency. The consular post may request additional documents. Confirm the relevant consulate before ordering.Official source
Sources checked .
PortugalRemote-work residence visaCompetent authority of the nationality country or the country where the applicant has resided for over one year. The central source does not specify the FBI.Hague apostille if applicable, or legalizationNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNationality country or country of residence for over one year, as stated with an or condition; applicants under 16 are exemptThe reviewed central page does not state criminal-record recency. The consular post may request additional documents. Confirm the relevant consulate before ordering.Official source
Sources checked .

What does this table cover?

Criminal-record instructions and explicit source omissions for named Spanish consulates, Portugal retirement/passive-income and remote-work residence routes, and Korea EPIK. This is not a visa eligibility guide or a complete visa checklist.

Sources checked . Not published means the official page we read did not publish that detail.

Download and reuse the data

Download CSV · Download JSON

CC0 data license. Official source material retains its own terms. The license covers our factual compilation.

When will we check it again?

Recheck official sources every 90 days and after a reported change.

Next review .

Public changelog

  • . First source-backed release. Missing checks remain explicit. No prior observations are claimed.
  • . Reviewed all pending official source rows and rechecked the three existing rows. Corrected program URLs, preserved explicit omissions, removed inferred planner anchors, and added the EPIK foreign-country CRC instructions.
Atom change feed · JSON change feed